Skip to content


J.N. Baxter Memorial Prize

This prize was established by family, colleagues, friends and former students in honour of the late John Neville Baxter, a member of the Department of Chemistry of the University of Tasmania from 1959 until his death in 1979.

Dr Baxter graduated from the University of Sydney and was awarded a PhD from the University of Leeds. He joined the Department of Chemistry at the University of Tasmania in1969 and was a senior academic resident of Hytten Hall for 20 years. Dr Baxter’s area of specialisation was in organic chemistry, but within this his particular interest lay in carbohydrate chemistry.



Awarded for outstanding proficiency in both the practical and theory in Organic Chemistry at a first year level. The recipient must not have previously presented for the examination.