Skip to content


The Dick and Joan Green Family Award for Tasmanian History

The Dick and Joan Green Family Award for Tasmanian History is a biennial book award established in 2016 to commemorate the contribution of Dick and Joan Green to Tasmanian culture and history.

2022 Prize Winner Details:

The award recognises high quality published work that makes a significant contribution to an understanding of Tasmania’s past and seeks to celebrate and promote books on Tasmanian history and cultural heritage, including biographies and historical fiction.

The award will honour the achievement of authors researching Tasmanian history and cultural heritage, contribute to the knowledge of and interest in Tasmanian history and cultural heritage and draw national attention to the achievements of authors on Tasmanian history and cultural heritage.

The prize money for the award is $25,000 and the award is offered biennially. The University of Tasmania is delighted to confirm a fourth book award with the eligibility date period from 1 July 2021 – 30 June 2023



The award is open to all authors who publish books of original research on Tasmanian history, including cultural heritage, and no institutional affiliation is required. However, entries from University of Tasmania staff, students and alumni are strongly encouraged. Authors must be alive at the time of nomination and at the time of the announcement of the award winner.

The eligibility criteria are:

1. All books must be in English. Bilingual editions where one of the languages used is English are also eligible.

2. There is no residency restriction, but all books must be predominantly on Tasmanian history or historical fiction that draws on Tasmanian history for its subject matter.

3. These awards are for books first made available to the public during the eligibility period. The following guidelines define this:

a) Eligible books will be those first published in English between 1 July 2021 and 30 June 2023 and offered for sale to Australian readers between these dates.

b) Ineligible books include the following:

- short stories, other than in a published collection by a single author; single poems published in anthologies or literary journals

- eBooks and self-published books

- Books developed specifically for curriculum material and textbooks, and

- Children’s books.

c) Books will not be eligible if a significant proportion has been previously published in book form. Judges are asked primarily to assess new work based on original research. To this end it is the responsibility of the publisher or nominator to clearly identify such material.

d) The book does not have to be published in Tasmania.

e) For the purposes of this award, Tasmanian history and cultural heritage has a cut off period of the year 2000. Any published book that covers the period from pre-European Indigenous history to the year 2000 is eligible.

f) All books nominated for the relevant Eligible Date Period should still be in print and generally available in bookstores in Australia at the time of nomination or announcement of the award winner and should not be nominated if ‘out of print’ or published in such a limited print run that it is shortly expected to be ‘out of print’.

4. The Dick and Joan Green Family Award for Tasmanian History is intended to be an award for authors of Tasmanian history, including cultural heritage, for books as defined above. The following guidelines define authorship.

"Authorship for the purposes of this award is defined as:

a) Only books by no more than two authors are eligible. Co-authorship is defined here as meaning joint responsibility by no more than two authors for the entire text. It is the responsibility of the nominator to correctly acknowledge joint authorship, where applicable. Both authors must agree to be nominated.

b) Books of multiple authorship, including edited collections, and anthologies, are not eligible for nomination and may not be entered under the name of one of the authors, or of the editor.

c) The nominated book must be the author’s own work.

d) Transcripts of oral histories are ineligible. Historical books based on oral histories are eligible where the author claims creative responsibility for a substantial part of the text, which is informed by historical research.

e) Translated texts and pamphlet publications are rendered ineligible for the award.

f) Books consisting principally of images, pictures, photographs, or illustrations will be ineligible unless the accompanying text is of substantial length and fully referenced.

g) Revised editions are ineligible.

h) Books may not be entered in the name of a committee.




Entries are now closed.

The following guidelines for entry apply:

1. Nomination forms and four (4) copies of the nominated books must be received by the Prizes Office by 5.00pm Tuesday 31 October 2023.

2. Each entry must be accompanied by a completed and signed copy of the nomination form, which can be found below.

3. Entrants are required to each pay an entry fee of $75 per entry, including GST. Payments can be made online via

4. Books may be submitted by authors, publishers, production companies or literary agents. There is no limit to the number of books that may be entered by a nominator or publisher or author provided the books entered meet all other entry requirements, and the author is alive at the date of nomination.

5. People or organisations nominating books on behalf of an author are deemed to be nominating with the author’s consent. It is the responsibility of the nominator to ensure and demonstrate that the author’s consent is obtained before nominating the book. The signed consent of the author will satisfy this requirement.

6. Books will not be returned.

Announcement of Longlist: March 2024

Announcement of Shortlist: May 2024

Winner announced: June 2024

Please contact the University of Tasmania Prizes Office for further information -